Minnesota overall has the strictest D-W-I laws in the country, finds a new national study.   Attorney Resh Jefferies with Siegfried and Jensen says Minnesota is somewhat ahead of its closest competition — Utah and Georgia — based on a point system that considers penalties, fines, license suspension, D-W-I fatalities and other factors:

“Jail time: 90 days on a first offense for a minimum jail time is one of the higher ones we’ve seen, and then 365 days for a second offense and 365 days for a third offense.”

One area where Minnesota lags is legal blood alcohol level. It’s point-oh-eight here, versus point-oh-five in Utah.